Fragile X Syndrome: In Pursuit of a Cure FREE Webinar

Virtual/Online

Location

Virtual/Online

Date

Jul 22 2021

Cost

FREE

FRAXA Research Foundation is proud to partner with WuXi AppTec on a world-wide webinar on Fragile X syndrome, featuring prominent Fragile X organizations, scientists and clinicians from around the world.

Fragile X Syndrome: In Pursuit of a Cure” will stream worldwide on World Fragile X Day, July 22 at 11 am ET / 8 am PT and air again at 10 pm ET / 7 pm PT.

This free webinar will appear with simultaneous translation, so viewers around the world will be able to benefit from the program.

Agenda

Times shown are for the first broadcast. 

Welcome
11:00 am ET / 8:00 am PT 

    • Hui Cai, VP and Head of Content, WuXi AppTec
    • Katie Clapp, President & Co-Founder, FRAXA Research Foundation

Collaboration and the voices of the patient advocacy groups
11:05 am ET / 8:05 am PT 

    • Katie Clapp, President & Co-Founder, FRAXA Research Foundation
    • Alison Singer, President, Autism Science Foundation
    • Wendy Bruce, Executive Director, Fragile X Association of Australia
    • Yinan Ma, VP, Fragile X Association of China
    • Karen Kelm, Board Member, Fragile X Foundation of Canada
    • Shalini Kedia, Chairperson, Fragile X Society – India
    • Sabrina Muggiati, Creator of the Eu Digo X Program – Brazil
    • Paula Gómez Ortega, Coordinator, Fragile X Syndrome Parent’s Group – Argentina
    • Sandz Fraser, Coordinator, Fragile X South Africa; Owner & Trustee, FiX Africa Special Needs Homeschool
    • Nazhi Tabatadze, Clinic coordinator at Fragile X Center, Georgia
    • Andrea Lee, Executive Director, Fragile X New Zealand

Current clinical studies and practice
11:10 am ET / 8:10 am PT

    • Craig Erickson, Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital and the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
    • Randi Hagerman, Medical Director, MIND Institute; Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, Endowed Chair, Fragile X Research, UC Davis Health
    • Elizabeth Berry-Kravis, Professor of Pediatrics, Neurological Sciences, Biochemistry, Rush University Medical Center

Moderator: Ted Brown, President, Fragile X Association of Australia

Patient story: 3 Australian families
11:40 am ET / 8:40 am PT

New directions in Fragile X syndrome therapeutics
11:45 am ET / 8:45 am PT 

    • Neil Thompson, CSO, Healx
    • Mark Bear, Professor of Neuroscience, Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, MIT
    • Mark Gurney, Chairman & CEO, Tetra Therapeutics
    • Walter Kaufmann, CMO, Anavex Life Sciences; Adjunct Professor of Human Genetics, Emory University
    • Charles Large, CEO, Autifony Therapeutics

Moderator: Richard Soll, Head of Boston Office and Senior Advisor of Strategic Initiatives, WuXi AppTec

Patient story: The Goss family
12:35 pm ET / 9:35 am PT

10-year vision
12:40 pm ET / 9:40 am PT

    • Michael Tranfaglia, Medical Director & CSO, FRAXA Research Foundation
    • Alison Singer, President, Autism Science Foundation
    • Nahum Sonenberg, Professor & Gilman Cheney Chair in Biochemistry, Goodman Cancer Research Centre, McGill University
    • Peter Kind, Director, Simons Initiative for the Developing Brain, Patrick Wild Centre; Professor of Developmental Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh
    • Sumantra Chattarji, Senior Professor, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Science, Bangalore, India
    • Patricia Cogram, Associate Professor, Department of Genetics, IEB, Faculty of Science, University of Chile
    • Shangzhi Huang, Professor of Medical Genetics, Peking Union Medical College
    • Elizabeth Berry-Kravis, Professor of Pediatrics, Neurological Sciences, Biochemistry, Rush University Medical Center

Closing
1:10 pm ET / 10:10 am PT

    • Hui Cai, VP and Head of Content, WuXi AppTec

WuXi AppTec, an open-access platform company with global operations, is hosting this webinar in the hope that these events will not only raise awareness about unmet healthcare needs, but also inspire innovative thinking and catalyze actionable solutions for parents.

We are especially thankful for the wonderful support and contributions from the global Fragile X community:

Hourly Schedule

11am - 1:15pm ET
Premiere airing
10pm - 12:15am ET
Replay
Copy link